Mock Crab recipe

This is a recipe that has been passed down at least 3 generations of our family.  It is called Mock Crab, because it supposedly looks like crab, although I can’t confirm this, as I’ve never cooked crab.  It is actually an egg recipe and is very tasty and quick to make, enjoyed by adults and children.  Our family has it at least once or twice very month.  And when I was a child, my mum always used to make it for our supper when we got home from holiday after a long drive.

Ingredients

4 eggs
1 tin of plum tomatoes
25g butter
100g grated cheese
Salt and pepper

Method

Strain the juice from the tomatoes and chop.
Beat the eggs.
Melt the butter in a pan.
Add beaten eggs and chopped tomatoes.
Season with salt and pepper.
Add grated cheese, when egg mixture is starting to set.
Continue to cook until fully set.
Serve hot on toast.
Any leftovers can be served cold in a sandwich.

mock crab mock crab

This post is an entry for the #eggmainsinminutes Linky on BritMums, sponsored by British Lion Eggs.  You can see more egg recipes on the Main Meals in Minutes site www.eggrecipes.co.uk/mealsinminutes.

I’d love to hear your favourite egg recipes.

Follow on Bloglovin

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

19 thoughts on “Mock Crab recipe

  1. Diane

    Been looking for a recipe for this for ages, had it as a kid but couldn’t remember what was in it! Knew it was tomato and egg but I had forgotten Cheese! Thank you

    Like

    Reply
  2. Graham Dodgson

    Same sort of ingredients – grate one onion and soften in a pan with some oil/butter. Shop in one peeled onion. Salt and pepper. Add plenty of grated cheese and when its all melted and 1 egg. Let cool and use for sandwiches.

    Like

    Reply
  3. John E

    I have encountered delicious mock crab and horrible mock crab too. My preference is to use plenty of fresh tomato flesh (minimum of juice, no skin), unsalted butter and 1 egg.
    Simmer the tomato and butter for 15 mins or so, remove from heat, stir in lightly whipped egg, simmer for a few moments and then cool before spreading on sandwiches. Adding a little chopped marjoram is enjoyable.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Maureen Ann Carey

    my best friend died and her husband asked me how to make it so I googeled it and made it myself lovely really enjoyed.

    Like

    Reply
  5. thefragile

    Thank you so much for this. My grandfather aka Gramps made this for me many times when I was a youngster. It was my comfort food on cold autumn evenings. I’m going to make a batch of this tomorrow. And relive my happy memories.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

