Winter Style Challenge

Debenhams are running a competition for bloggers to showcase two stylish outfits for less than £250 each. The first outfit is a daytime look, which will keep you warm and cosy but looking good through the colder months; and the second outfit should be your ultimate party look. This is being judged by Natasha from girlinthelens.com and Victoria from vipxo.co.uk.

So starting with my daytime look, I’ve chosen to make sure I’m warm and cosy, but stylish when out and about in cold weather. I could have chosen some lovely indoor items like knitted slipper boots too, but I’m happy to turn the heating up or snuggle under the duvet on the settee.

I’ve selected a pair of high waist jeggings by Quiz – great in winter on two counts.  Firstly no chilly bare midriff and secondly they will fit snuggly inside the boots.  I hate it if my boot cut jeans are damp from rain when worn over boots or alternatively the baggy look around the knee definitely doesn’t look stylish if I try to push them inside boots. So the wider fit ‘Good for the Sole’ boots have been specially chosen to comfortably accomodate the jeggings and they are flat, ideal for walking in winter weather conditions.

Then I’m teaming the jeggings with a cosy textured jumper, by Red Herring.  Machine washable of course, unlike some knits, as it’s a nightmare trying to dry dripping hand-washed garments in the winter.  Unfortunately others won’t see the lovely jumper as it will be hidden under the performance fleece jacket by Tog 24.  This will keep me really warm in cold weather and it is quick drying if the rain dares to sneak under my umbrella.

The jacket doesn’t have a hood, so I’ve chosen a matching hat and snood by Mantaray in a vibrant dark pink to give a splash of colour on a dreary winter’s day.  I always wear hats in the winter, as the slightest wind or chill gives me bad earache.

And finally a large tote bag by Betty Jackson to carry all the bits and pieces I don’t go anywhere without.  I think the woven tweed design looks very stylish for winter, and it makes me think of warm tweed winter coats.

Total spend is £201.79

My Debenhams winter daytime look



And now for my ultimate party look. I don’t see any reason to dress for winter when going to a party.  It is usually very hot indoors, especially once you start dancing. Hopefully a taxi to the door and check your coat into the cloakroom.  If really necessary, a pair of folding shoes in your clutch.

So I’ve opted for a glamorous white and black look, which makes me think of a crisp winter day. I’ve chosen a sleeveless lace detail shift dress by Jacques Vert.  This is complimented by the matching classic contrast bolero jacket.

Then I’ve chosen an elegant pair of mid heel court shoes in black ruched satin with diamante trim by Début. They have a round toe and cushioned insole and I’ve selected them based on the customer reviews posted, as my feet blister very easily. The reviews for this shoe in all 3 colours indicate it to be comfortable, even when worn at a wedding all day and evening.

I don’t go anywhere without a bag, so I’ve chosen one which coordinates with the shoes, also having diamante trim.  Again it is by Début and it has a concealable chain strap.

And finally some jewellery to accessorize.  I’ve chosen the triple grey tone pearl and diamante crystal bracelet and matching pearl and crystal ball necklace by Jon Richard.

Total spend is £215.60

My ultimate Debenhams party look
Leave a Reply

