Spicy Parsnip and Rice Soup

Tots100 and the Co-op have challenged bloggers to share a winter warmer recipe.

In winter I love to make lots of soups. They are warming comfort food. And with all the floods and the wind howling outside, a thick and hearty soup was just what was required today.  To make a filling soup, I usually include something like rice, pasta, barley, lentils or noodles. And as I had plenty of parsnips in the fridge, I decided to experiment, since I’ve seen parsnip soup on the shelves in the supermarket, but never made it myself before. So this is what I came up with.

Spicy Parsnip and Rice Soup (serves 2 adults and 2 children)

Ingredients

400g parsnips
100g long grain rice
1 chicken stock cube
1/2 a teaspoon of Taos Lightning Chilli Powder blend (or similar)
salt
pepper
500 ml milk

Method

Bring a small amount of water to the boil in a large saucepan.
Add the rice.
Peel and chop the parsnips into small pieces.
Crumble the stock cube into a jug.
Boil kettle.
Pour 500 ml boiling water into jug.
Stir to dissolve stock cube.
Add parsnips to the saucepan.
Add sufficient stock to the saucepan to cover the parsnips.
Add Taos Lightning chilli powder blend (or similar).
Season with salt and pepper.
Simmer for about 15 – 20 minutes until rice and parsnips are soft.
Roughly mash with a potato masher, so some remains chunky.
Add milk and heat through.
Serve with crusty bread and enjoy.

I was very pleased with the resulting tasty hearty soup and thought the chilli gave it an extra warming kick. I made this using a stock cube, but even better if you have fresh stock available to use.

This is my entry into the Co-operative Electrical competition.

4 thoughts on “Spicy Parsnip and Rice Soup

  1. Kim Styles

    I love Parsnip soup- its a favourite winter warmer- I like the fact you have added a bit of chilli powder- I have never tried that

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

