Chocolate Cake

My other half’s favourite cake has always been chocolate cake ever since childhood. However I haven’t tended to make it very often, as his mum used to make one and bring it on every visit. But as an afternoon tea treat, I decided I would make him one. Unfortunately I seem to have lost my grandma’s Devil’s Food Cake recipe which was the delicious version I always used to bake as a teenager and none of the recipes I see online are quite how I remember it. So instead I have opted to bake a plainer chocolate sponge cake, which my other half will probably prefer as he doesn’t like very much icing, which the Devil’s Food Cake would have had lots of.

Devil's Food CakeDevil's Food Cake

Chocolate Cake
Ingredients

150g margarine
150g light brown sugar
2 large eggs
150g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp cocoa powder
milk to mix

250g icing sugar
100g butter
50g cocoa powder

Method

Preheat fan oven to 160 deg C.
Grease and line a 20cm round cake tin.
Cream together margarine and brown sugar.
Beat in the eggs.
Sieve and fold in the 2 tbsp cocoa.
Sieve and fold in the flour.
Add sufficient milk to give a dropping consistency.
Spoon mixture into prepared cake tin.
Cook on middle shelf of preheated oven for about 25-30 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.
Allow to cool.
Turn out of tin.

Allow butter to soften at room temperature.
Cream butter in a bowl.
Sieve in the icing sugar gradually, mixing as you go along.
Sieve in the 50g cocoa.
Mix together until smooth.
Spread over the top of the cake.
Serve and enjoy.

As mentioned my other half doesn’t like too much icing but if you prefer you can make a larger quantity and slice the cake in half and fill with the additional icing. That would be my personal preference for my sweet tooth.

His verdict. A very tasty cake. Thumbs up.
devils food cake

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Disclosure. This post is my entry to the Great Denby Cake Off Competition.

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake

  1. A S,Edinburgh

    Gorgeous! I never usually bother using any kind of brown sugar in cake, but I should do it more often because it really does add something, I think.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Rosie

    If I have a choice of chocolate cake or any dessert whatsoever, I’d take the cake!! And this does sound so perfect, I love a lot of icing, but I feel much better about having a giant piece if there isn’t too much icing.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

