The White Stuff – the Milk Drinker’s Milk

As a household we consume about 16 pints of milk each week, so I was pleased to receive some free Cravendale milk vouchers to review. In particular, both the boys and my other half all love drinking milk on its own. Son2 likes it warm best, whilst the others enjoy it cold best.

Cravendale milk

I spent the vouchers in Tesco, but most main supermarkets stock Cravendale milk. Tesco currently had a special promotion of 2 bottles for £3 compared to their individual price of £1.90 each. So great value and well below the maximum voucher value of £2.25 which I remember caught me out in Budgens last time I blogged about Cravendale.

Cravendale milk

The boys both had a glass of Cravendale at breakfast (one warm and one cold) along with more on their cereal and gave it the thumbs up. My other half was more negative in his taste test view though and prefers standard milk. He felt the processing takes something away from the flavour and that it wasn’t creamy enough. I found this very strange as it was more creamy to my palate.

Cravendale milk for breakfast

Cravendale milk for breakfast

Son1 compared the long use by date of November 14th against the standard milk in the fridge and wanted to know in that case why I didn’t buy Cravendale all the time. He’s right. I would love to, but we support our local milkman, who doesn’t stock Cravendale.

Cravendale use ceramic filters to remove more of the bacteria that turn milk sour, so it stays pure and fresh for twice as long as standard milk without additional heat treatment. Cravendale stays fresh for 21 days unopened, and 7 days once opened. I couldn’t put that to the test as the boys love milk so any open bottle is finished within a couple of days.

For more details on Cravendale milk, see their website milkmatters.co.uk and you can follow them on Twitter @Cravendale.

You can also read a previous Cravendale review on my blog here.

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

Family Fever

Disclosure.  This post is an entry for BritMums #MilkDrinkersMilk Linky Challenge, sponsored by Cravendale. This post is a review of a product I received for free.  All opinions are my own.

7 thoughts on “The White Stuff – the Milk Drinker’s Milk

  1. Elaine Livingstone

    I dont do dairy, but both hubby and granddaughter prefer Cravendale to our normal supermarket milk and both drink it as if it was going out of fashion, this makes the long life bit irrelevant as it does not hang around long enough to go off in this house.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

