A good night’s sleep

Son1 always has great difficulty getting to sleep and almost every night is still awake well after 9pm and occasionally even when I go to bed. I think it is probably due to a combination of his nightly chemotherapy and an overactive mind. I can often hear him climbing out of bed to look at things in his room and sometimes he comes back downstairs. This is particularly the case if he wants a drink or snack once his hour is up. He isn’t allowed anything except water for an hour either side of his nightly chemotherapy and the timing of this, usually means he has to go to bed without the glass of milk that he really wants.

He has a high sleeper bed, so I was interested to hear about a new product called a Night Night Pocket which ties onto the bed rail and is strong enough to hold the weight of a drink bottle and books. We have received one free to review.

Night Night Pocket

It is made of strong sturdy 100% cotton material with four long wide velcro straps. Very easy to install and I could immediately see it was not going to fall off. It has two pockets – one for a drink bottle and a larger one for books, toys, torch, soother, etc or whatever else a child might want in bed.

Night Night Pocket

I discussed with son1 what he would like to put in it for his first night and we agreed on a water bottle, a book and a torch. He found it straight-foward to lean over to take things out or put them back in the pockets, even in the dark (although we did take the photos with the light on).

Night Night Pocket

I’m quite happy for him to read in bed, especially if it helps him to fall asleep. Much more preferable to when I find his iPod Touch under the pillow the next morning, even though we have a house rule of no electronic devices in the boys’ bedrooms. I believe these stimulate the brain, which is not helpful at bedtime.

So this is a great product in my opinion for assisting your child in getting a good night’s sleep and you too, as it should reduce those night-time calls of “mum, I need a drink”. We have previously attempted placing a water bottle on his bed near the pillow, but it hasn’t worked since it tends to slip between the bars in the night and fall to the floor.

The Night Night Pocket currently retails at £24.99 including P&P or may be purchased via Amazon and Kiddicare and is available in navy blue stripes or pink with polka dots. It is not recommended for use on cots. Slightly more expensive than I would have expected, but worth it from the point of view of an undisturbed night.

Night Night Pocket

Night Night Pocket

I’d love to hear what are your top tips for getting your children to sleep.

Family Fever

Disclosure.  This post is a review of products I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

22 thoughts on “A good night’s sleep

  1. Joyfull Mom

    Neat product! My kids bring all sorts of stuff into their beds so this would be helpful. I use Peace and Calming Essential Oil or Lavender Essential Oil to help my kids settle down for bed. I made it into a bed spray so they an spray it on their pillow. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Joyfull Mom

        Neat idea! There are many wonderful things you can do with essential oils! Check out my essential oils section for some ideas including diffusing oil combinations. There is also a free class you can take to learn more. I am hoping to send out a weekly post with recipes and ideas for essential oils. They have been a life changer in my house. Hope this recipe works for you. Blessings!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Colette B

    What a great idea – my daughter sleeps in bunk beds so this would be great for her.
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

    Like

    Reply
  3. mummydaddymia

    This looks really handy, I could have done with this when Mia was in her cot as her dummys and water bottle were always falling through the sides! Now shes in a toddler bed so she can reach everything but as she gets older and we change her bed again, I will have to keep a note of this organiser as it would solve a lot of problems. I’m glad its been useful to you! 🙂

    #TriedTested

    Like

    Reply
  4. MrsShilts

    This looks really handy, we used to have one for Olly’s cot when he was a baby but since he’s been in his cotbed we’ve had to take it away and he stashes all his bottles and books down the side of his bed! #TriedTested

    Like

    Reply
    1. mumjd Post author

      It is a good product, especially as there are so few alternatives – a shelf that they could bump themselves on or climbing down to use a bedside table

      Like

      Reply
  5. samantha r O'Donnell

    This looks great. This is something we need to sort. Baby sleeps in our bed which is not ideal and my 4 year old constantly gets out of bed

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

