Sticky Date Flapjack

Flapjack has always been one of my favourite sweet treats and there are so many different possible variants. One of my favourite goto recipes is Sticky Date Flapjack which I had pinned from Ocado. However last month when I clicked on my pin, the link was broken. I had an unsuccessful search around Ocado’s recipe section. So now was obviously the time to come up with my own date flapjack recipe, as I couldn’t remember the full ingredient list or amounts. And I decided to experiment with using coconut oil rather than butter for a slightly healthier version.

Vita Coco coconut oil

I had never tried coconut oil in any cooking previously, but I had just received a free tub of Vita Coco organic coconut oil which I was looking forward to trying, especially since becoming a convert to coconut syrup last year.


Date flapjack

Sticky Date Flapjack

Ingredients (makes 12)

225g dates
150 – 200 ml boiling water
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
350g oats
90g coconut oil
90g golden syrup

Method

Preheat fan oven to 160 deg C.
Line a 20cm square baking tin with greaseproof paper.
Chop dates and place in basin.
Add bicarbonate of soda.
Add sufficient boiling water to cover.
Leave for 15 minutes, then strain, reserving the liquid.
Mash the dates into a pulp with a fork.
Meanwhile add coconut oil and golden syrup to a large saucepan.
Gently melt.
Add the liquid from the dates.
Mix in the oats.
Put half the oat mixture into the tin, pressing down into the corners.
Cover with the date layer.
Cover with the remaining oat mixture, ensuring all the dates are covered.
Cook in preheated oven for about 25 minutes until golden brown.
Leave in tin for 10 minutes, then turn onto cooling rack.
Once cool, cut into 12 slices.
Serve and enjoy.

date flapjack

This was really tasty and I’ve still got some coconut oil in the tub, so I’m planning to try using it in a savoury dish next. Although as a newbie to coconut oil, I would love to hear recommendations of what it does or doesn’t work well in.

For other newbies, here is what it looks like. According to the pot it is solid upto 23 degrees C. And it had a very subtle aroma of coconut. Also the coconut flavour in the flapjack was pretty subtle too.

Vita Coco coconut oil

And the pot indicates that in addition to cooking, you can use it as a spread or even use it on yourself as a moisturiser or hair conditioner. Also suitable for removing make-up. That is quite some wide range of uses.

Definitely something that is going on my shopping list.

I’d love to hear what you would use coconut oil for?

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

Family Fever

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Disclosure. This recipe is an entry into the #Swearbyit challenge with Vita Coco. Find more great coconut oil recipes and tips on using coconut oil at www.swearbyit.com. This recipe uses a product I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

12 thoughts on “Sticky Date Flapjack

  1. Rosie

    I have some organic coconut oil, but I haven’t tried cooking with it yet. I’ve been keeping it in the refrigerator, wondering what to make. I’d love to try these!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Margaret Gallagher

    Never tried coconut oil either
    Read so much about the health benefits
    This is a great recipe and easy to make and follow thanks
    One for my baking day treat

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

