Mumsnet Book Club review – Noonday by Pat Barker

I have received another book from the Mumsnet Book Club free to review. It is Noonday by award-winning author Pat Barker.

Noonday by Pat Barker

This is what it says on the back.

London, the Blitz, autumn 1940. As the bombs fall on a terrified city, ambulance driver Elinor Brooke races through black nights of carnage. A former artist, who – like her husband Paul – saw the hopes of her generation die on the battlefields of the First World War, she watches in impotent horror as death reigns down. Overwhelmed by the endless destruction and carelessly betrayed by Paul, Elinor seeks solace away from home, but no life and no lover can remain unscarred amidst so much ruin.

Although this book is very well written, I didn’t enjoy it. I persevered and have read the whole story but it just didn’t grip me. I found this strange as I usually enjoy novels set during the 2nd World War. I don’t know if this is because it is the third book in a trilogy, but it is supposed to work as a stand-alone novel.

It is the first Pat Barker book that I have read and I did feel that it definitely brought the period to life. I half-liked the first part of the story set in the country, but once it refocussed on London for the second and third parts, I just wasn’t engaged with it, although I did like the last page. That was a nice ending.

Sorry I don’t have anything more pleasing to say. It may just be me, as I have seen plenty of positive reviews of this book.

Noonday is by Pat Barker and is published by Penguin. The paperback edition is currently on sale on Amazon for £6.29 compared to an RRP of £8.99. It is also available in hardback and kindle format.

You may find out more about Pat Barker on Wikipedia.

I have previously read the following books from the Mumsnet Book Club.
Missing Presumed by Susie Steiner
The Wolf Border by Sarah Hall
The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater
The Forgetting Time by Sharon Guskin
Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica
Coming Home by Annabel Kantaria
Fallout by Sadie Jones
Falling by Emma Kavanagh
The Girl Who Just Appeared by Jonathan Harvey

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

Family Fever
MamaMummyMum

Disclosure.  This post is a review of a book I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

8 thoughts on “Mumsnet Book Club review – Noonday by Pat Barker

  1. A S,Edinburgh

    That’s interesting. I’m coming to not trust claims that books work as standalones despite being part of a trilogy. I think I’d always start at the beginning of a trilogy now. I do like the sound of this one; I’m a big fan of that kind of setting.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Coombe Mill

    I usually like historical novels, but I only read late at night so I easily loose interest if I can’t follow the plot or it doesn’t grab me, I shall look out for it with caution, thanks for the review #readwithme

    Like

    Reply
  3. Margaret Gallagher

    Don’t really go for ww2 stories
    This would be one for my neice as she’s fascinated with the history and goings on in the wars
    Thankyou for the honest review

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

