Confessions of a Summer Parent

Britmums have challenged bloggers to take part in #The GoodStuff Challenge. This challenge is in partnership with Anchor, so I received a free Anchor Cheddar voucher and a free Anchor Spreadable voucher.

The long school summer holiday is quickly looming, so I’m going to share some of my confessions of how I plan to get through it.

Since I work full-time, I will only be able to take part of the period on leave, so will cover the remainder by the boys spend some time staying in their grandparents caravan and the rest at holiday club.

I have negotiated a few days to work at home plus there are the days that I’m on night shift, so for these I will let the boys have much more screen time than their usual allowance, in order that it is quiet enough for me to either work or get enough sleep. It is great that they are now old enough for this option..

on the trampoline

We will hopefully have some proper days out, but in-between, I tend to let them entertain themselves in the garden on the trampoline or with water toys, while I get on with chores.

Also we often visit one of the local playgrounds. Whilst they play, I’m usually on my phone catching up on email.

at the park

I used to look for children’s colouring competitions and have those printed out ready for a rainy day, but unlikely to bother this summer. Although the boys still love doing their own drawing, colouring is apparently now boring.

And this summer, I’m going to add a new confession. Once I’ve used my vouchers to purchase some Anchor, I’m going to ask the boys to make some cheese sandwiches for either a picnic or we could make a den in the garden and eat them in the den.

So how do you get through the long summer holiday?

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

Disclosure. This post is an entry for BritMums Confessions of a Summer Parent Challenge, sponsored by Anchor and mentions vouchers I received for free.  All opinions are my own.

12 thoughts on “Confessions of a Summer Parent

  1. Petite Pudding

    I really struggle to keep my big boy entertained in the holidays – and yes I also work night shifts so trying to have quieter days is hard work. He is only 4 so he wants to be on the go all the time! We too have been having indoor and outdoor picnics, one of his new favourite activities 😊

    Like

    Reply
    1. mumjd Post author

      yes it can be quite frazzling sometime. Although I feel guilty about it, there is nothing that my 2 like more, than being able to play on video games all day, so I do manage to get some sleep

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Hazel Rea

    So glad that you leave them to their own devices while you do chores. Allowing them time to actually get bored is one of the best ways to spark creativity. As they both enjoy “screen time” one very useful thing they could both do is learn to touch type (if they haven’t been encouraged to learn at school). It can speed up games where they have to type responses and is incredibly useful as they move through education. There are free typing games on the internet (e.g. http://www.kidztype.com). It’s fascinating to keep a graph showing their increasing speed once they have learned where the keys are. My son started touch typing when he was six, my daughter when she was eight.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Samantha O'D

    It’s so difficult finding things to entertain the kids, we are hoping to have a few days out and will be doing some crafts and baking

    Like

    Reply
  4. SnapperTime

    We Identify with this completely!! We’re parents too and we’re launching this online resource for other parents, which we hope will be a massive help over the holidays. It’s new and it’s free so if you feel like shouting about it, we’re really keen to let parents know we are out there! Thanks! Happy summer! 🙂 http://snappertime.com/

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

