Pumpkin and Kale stir-fry

I hope you enjoyed Halloween. Did you carve a pumpkin? I always find pumpkin carving quite difficult, so am impressed with some of the amazing designs that I see online. I understand a stencil is the key, however I don’t think I would have the patience. But at least the boys were happy with my basic carving.

pumpkin

And of course I didn’t want to waste the pumpkin flesh. Instead I used it in a stir-fry.

Pumpkin and Kale stir fry

Pumpkin and Kale stir-fry

Ingredients (serves 2)

250g pumpkin
350g potato
50g kale
1 spring onion
50g macadamias
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp mixed herbs
salt and pepper to season

Method

Dice the pumpkin and chop the spring onion.
Shred the kale and grate the potato.
Heat the oil in a wok over a moderate heat.
Add the pumpkin and onion.
Stir in the grated potato.
Stir in the kale.
Add the macadamias.
Add herbs and season with salt and pepper.
Continue to stir-fry for about 10-15 minutes.
Serve and enjoy.

Pumpkin and Kale stir-fry

I’d love to hear your favourite pumpkin recipes.

And you can see how to toast the pumpkin seeds here, along with my pumpkin soup recipe.

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

14 thoughts on “Pumpkin and Kale stir-fry

  1. A S,Edinburgh

    That sounds delicious! I love the addition of the macadamias. And I think you did a great job of the pumpkin carving, I always find it so much harder than it looks!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Jennifer Berg

    That’s a great carving job! I think most (if not all) of the picture-perfect masterpieces are made with special tools (like electric routers and jicksaws). But you did a real carving! Besides, you get extra points for eating the pumpkin.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

