Lemon Curd

This post is long overdue. I think I promised to post this recipe on my blog a couple of years ago, when I was reviewing the chalk-board style labels. It is adapted from a recipe passed down from my mum. In particular, I’ve significantly reduced the amount of sugar, which gives it more of a tangy taste.

I needed to make some lemon curd this week to use in another recipe, so watch out for that soon.

Lemon Curd

 

Lemon Curd

Ingredients (fills 1 standard size jar)

3 eggs
75g granulated sugar
100g butter
3 – 5 lemons depending on size

Method

Preheat oven to 140 deg C.
Place jar and lid on baking tray in preheated oven for at least 10 minutes, to sterilise them.
Leave in oven until you are ready to use the jar.
Grate the zest of the lemons.
Squeeze the lemons to give 125ml of lemon juice.
Add eggs, sugar, butter, zest and juice to saucepan.
Cook over a medium heat allowing the butter to melt.
Whisk continually until thick, to avoid bits of egg white coagulating.
Tip into sterilised jar and put lid on.
You may optionally put a wax disc on top of the lemon curd, prior to putting the lid on, but this is not essential.
Store in refrigerator for upto 3 weeks.

Lemon Curd

Delicious on a slice of bread or in a cake. And so much tastier than shop-bought lemon curd.

I’d love to hear what preserves you enjoy?

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

14 thoughts on “Lemon Curd

  1. A S,Edinburgh

    What a lovely recipe! I don’t often have lemon curd; a lot of shop-bought preserves are too high in sugar for me, but I do love them, especially all flavours of jam.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

