Shades of Justice by Carolyn Arnold

I have received a free e-copy of the book Shades of Justice by bestselling author Carolyn Arnold to review. I’ve now read several of Carolyn’s books, so I was very much looking forward to reading this one, particularly as it stars Detective Madison Knight again, just like in Power Struggle. To find out more about the author you may visit her website.

Shades of Justice by Carolyn Arnold

Here is the book blurb.

The line between good and evil isn’t always clear…

Detective Madison Knight has risked her badge—and her life—in the pursuit of justice before, and she just might need to do so again. Two victims are found murdered and naked in the home of Steven Malone, who is the largest contributor to the Stiles PD. One victim is his wife. The other victim is a John Doe. This high-profile double homicide immediately pits Madison against her sergeant, who seems more intent on protecting the Malones’ reputation and retaining a benefactor than catching a killer.

Madison will need to pull on her tenacity and courage if she’s going to follow the evidence without prejudice. In the process, it becomes clear that finding justice isn’t always black and white, and often the shades in between tell the fullest story—and it’s not something she will forget anytime soon.

Shades of Justice is a murder mystery with twists and turns that will have readers flipping the pages until the wee hours of the morning. The ninth installment in an international bestselling series, it doesn’t matter if this is the first book you’re reading in the Detective Madison Knight series or not; all the books stand alone!

Buy this book now and join the investigation! Uncover clues, follow leads, and catch a killer like hundreds of thousands of readers in this series have done before you. Perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michael Connelly, and JD Robb.

This is book 9 in the series featuring Detective Madison Knight, but I found it worked very well as a stand-alone read.

The book begins with Madison secretly getting a journalist on board to help expose corrupt cops within Stiles police. The same day, she and her partner Terry get assigned to investigate a double homicide. One victim is an unidentified John Doe but the other is wealthy Lorene Malone, wife of Steven Malone, highly respected members of the local community. They were shot and found naked in the Malone’s swimming pool. Who is John Doe? Is it an affair or something more mysterious, as we get introduced to suspects and motives?

Meanwhile Madison gets thwarted at every turn by her immediate boss Sergeant Winston, who wants to keep Mr Malone sweet, a large benefactor of Stiles police.

And can they get the case wrapped up before head of forensics Cynthia gets married in a few days time? Madison, as Maid of Honour is due for a dress fitting tonight but looks like that will have to be postponed.

Plus there is another mini-story incorporated. About a quarter of the way through the book, Madison witnesses a road accident. A pedestrian on her cell phone is crossing when she is hit by a car. Who had the green light? Turns out the driver is Madison’s brother-in-law Jim and he is about to be investigated by officer Phelps, one of the cops that Madison believes to be corrupt.

Plenty more to follow in this great story, as the strands get woven together.

Shades of Justice is available on Amazon, currently priced at £12.99 in paperback or £5.55 in Kindle format. Another gripping story as per usual from best-selling author Carolyn Arnold. I certainly would like to go back and read some of the earlier titles featuring Detective Madison Knight.

Here are the links to my reviews of other books by Carolyn Arnold.
Remnants
Power Struggle
The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh
On the Count of Three

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

MamaMummyMum

Disclosure.  This post is a review of an e-book I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

8 thoughts on “Shades of Justice by Carolyn Arnold

  1. shelllouiseblog

    I like the sound of this one, but I wouldn’t be able to read it until I’d read the others because I really don’t like reading books out of order, even if they do work well as a stand-alone!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.