Duke of Daring by Tammy Andresen – book review

Disclosure.  This post is a review of an e-book I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

I have received a free e-copy of the book Duke of Daring by Tammy Andresen to review.

Duke of Daring by Tammy Andresen

Here is the book blurb.

He’s known as the Duke of Daring…but is he brave enough to take on one feisty spinster?

The Duke of Darlington is on a mission. He needs to protect his secret gaming hell from a group of debutantes who’ve stumbled upon his covert business. The problem… Miss Minerva Chase is not the average lady. From the moment his compatriots assign Daring to keep watch over the fiery redhead, she begins stirring trouble. Not only is her tongue sharper than any sword he’s faced but her lips are achingly soft while she tosses barb after barb in his direction. He’d like to throttle her, or kiss her, or perhaps protect the very spirit that drives him mad.

Minnie knows a pompous, arrogant, infuriating man when she meets one and she will not be intimidated. So what if he’s a duke with a secret? She won’t bend, not even when she realizes that he pushes her away because he’s been hurt before; a hurt she’s experienced herself. And she will not give in to his will, even when his kiss lights her body to flame. But when he needs her help… well, that’s a little more difficult for a girl to refuse.

The problem is that once she’s seen his softer side, she’s in jeopardy of succumbing to the Duke of Daring. When it comes to love, is she brave enough to give away her heart?

This is book 1 in the Regency Romance Lords of Scandal series, but there is a prequel available  free on Tammy’s website which is definitely worth a read to set the scene first. There the girls had discovered the men were making their fortunes by running a secret gaming Den of Sins. But can the men ensure the ladies keep their secret and the ladies also avoid ruin themselves. Each lord will watch a lady to ensure she is trustworthy.

So Tag, the Duke of Darlington, also known as the Duke of Daring is going to seek out chances to watch Minnie. He arranges to accompany Jack to a family dinner at the Chase household. Minnie is displeased to discover the rogue in Jack’s carriage and speaks her mind. But when they arrive, Tag escorts Minnie in, where her mother gets match-making ideas. Minnie is horrified but Tag plays along for more invitation opportunities.

At the next gathering, Minnie tries to hide behind her cousins, but Tag spots her. As they walk around the garden, she tries to make a deal with him that she won’t mention his club, if he will leave her be, so she can find a suitable husband, sealing the bargain with a chaste kiss.

Was that a mistake? Almost immediately afterwards there is a family emergency as two of the party have disappeared. Tag sets to searching, but when he returns with news, he slips on the steps, dislocating his shoulder. Whatever next? The answer is plenty, including throwing more characters into the mix and a few twists.

Duke of Daring is available on Amazon, currently priced at £3.25 in Kindle format. As usual, another nice light romantic story from Tammy.

About the author

USA Today Bestselling Author, Tammy Andresen lives with her husband and three children just outside of Boston, Massachusetts. She grew up on the Seacoast of Maine, where she spent countless days dreaming up stories in blueberry fields and among the scrub pines that line the coast. Her mother loved to spin a yarn and Tammy filled many hours listening to her mother retell the classics. It was inevitable that at the age of 18, she headed off to Simmons College, where she studied English literature and education. She never left Massachusetts but some of her heart still resides in Maine and her family visits often.

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Read With Me


6 thoughts on “Duke of Daring by Tammy Andresen – book review

    1. mumjd Post author

      Yes I can’t keep up. I tend to always have a backlog of books to review and I think I probably got this one in December and already have quite a few more of the titles in this series waiting to be read



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.