2022 LOLLIES shortlist – Vote now!

Disclosure. Originally I would have received a free pack of 4 of the shortlisted titles, but due to a change in circumstances, it seemed appropriate that the pack should continue to go to the students where I previously worked.

I am thrilled to have been selected as a LOL Crew ambassador for the LOLLIES Laugh Out Loud 2022 Book Awards. These celebrate the best and funniest children’s books in the UK and Ireland, voted for by children. Shortlisting has already taken place, by a panel of judges including Michael Rosen and now you have until 10 December to place your vote.

Lollies Crew 2022

The shortlisted titles in the age 9-13 category are as follows:-

Little Badman and the Invasion of the Killer Aunties by Humza Arshad and Henry White
The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson
Kay’s Anatomy by Adam Kay
Zombierella: Fairy Tales Gone Bad by Joseph Coelho

2022 lollies award 9-13 shortlist

Here I share my thoughts on the titles shortlisted in the age 9-13 category. I’ve read two in print format and listened to the other two in audiobook format, all borrowed from the library.


Little Badman and the Invasion of the Killer Aunties by Humza Arshad and Henry White

Little Badman and the Invasion of the Killer Aunties by Humza Arshad and Henry White

“You’ve probably heard of me, right? Little Badman. No? Oh. Well. . . Doesn’t matter. You will do one day. I’m gonna be big.”
I’m Humza Khan, the greatest eleven-year-old rapper Eggington has ever known; soon everyone will know my name.
Only problem is school has got really weird, man. All my teachers are disappearing and our aunties are taking over.
It wasn’t too bad at the start, they keep feeding us delicious snacks. Like, all the time.
But now these aunties are trying to mess with my music, so me and my best friends Umer and Wendy are going to hunt for the truth. Cos something big and bad is going on and we won’t let anything mess with my music… or you know, the world.

A hilarious and fast-paced adventure from comedian Humza Arshad and screen writer Henry White, perfect for fans of David Solomons and David Baddiel.

I listened to the audiobook version of this title and it was so funny. This was the first Little Badman title I’ve read and I’ll certainly be reading some more. The authors have come up with a brilliant hilarious storyline. Definitely the one that got my vote in the LOLLIES!



The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates by Jenny Pearson

When people ask me if I would do anything differently in my journey if I were to do it all again, I tell them I would take more underpants.

Facts are everything to Freddie Yates―once you know one, it’s yours to keep. After his grandmother dies, Freddie has to face the facts: his family has now dwindled to just him and his accident-prone stepdad. When Freddie discovers his biological father might be alive and well in Wales, he decides it’s time to get back a family member. Together with his best friends Ben and Charlie, he sneaks off on the adventure of a lifetime (or at least, the summer vacation) to track him down.
Freddie doesn’t expect miracles―they’re not real, after all. But as their road trip gets out of hand and the three boys unwittingly set off a chain of hilarious and unlikely events involving an onion-eating competition, stolen superhero costumes, an angry jewel thief, and some very backed-up plumbing, Freddie discovers that some things can’t be explained―and that sometimes what you’re looking for has been with you the whole time.

Propulsive and laugh-out-loud funny, The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates is a heartwarming story about the true meaning of family.

A funny mystery with plenty of mishaps thrown in, as Freddie tries to find his biological father. A great read with lovely illustrations. Sensitively written too. A close second which narrowly missed out on my vote.

I’m delighted to announce that this review has been shared by Twinkl! For even more great recommendations, make sure to visit their TBR blog



Kay's Anatomy by Adam Kay

Kay’s Anatomy by Adam Kay

Discover all the weird and wonderful things that go on inside your body with Adam Kay. Covers key stage 2 / 3 human biology syllabus (in a slightly repulsive way).

‘Hilarious and fascinating! I wish Adam had been my biology teacher’ – Konnie Huq

Do you ever think about your body and how it all works? Like really properly think about it? The human body is extraordinary and fascinating and, well . . . pretty weird. Yours is weird, mine is weird, your maths teacher’s is even weirder.

This book is going to tell you what’s actually going on in there, and answer the really important questions, like:

Are bogeys safe to eat? Look, if your nose is going to all that effort of creating a snack, the least we can do is check out its nutritional value. (Yes, they’re safe. Chew away!)
And how much of your life will you spend on the toilet? About a year – so bring a good book. (I recommend this one.)
So sit back, relax, put on some rubber gloves, and let a doctor take you on a poo (and puke) filled tour of your insides. Welcome to Kay’s Anatomy*.

*a fancy word for your body. See, you’re learning already.

A yucky funny non-fiction book describing the human body, guaranteed to make you laugh whilst educational too. The humour encompassing poo and bogeys will certainly appeal to the target age audience. Great illustrations too.



Zombierella by Joseph Coelho

Zombierella: Fairy Tales Gone Bad by Joseph Coelho

The first in a funny, deliciously dark, three-part series of twisted classics, written in verse by award-winning poet Joseph Coelho and illustrated by Freya Hartas.

A yellow moon hangs in a satin sky the night Cinderella, barefoot and in hand-me-downs, slips at the top of the stairs … and dies. But not for long. The Shadow of Death arrives to breathe life back into her bones and, for three nights only, Cinderella goes forth as ZOMBIERELLA. With her skin as cold as ice and her faithful horse Lumpkin back by her side, can she seek revenge on her three cruel, fake sisters, once and for all?

Crawl out of the grave and step into your mushroom carriage for this haunting and humorous adventure of the undead girl searching for her happily ever after.

I listened to the audiobook version of this title which is a unique twist on the classic tale of Cinderella in verse. Rather dark, so suitable for age 11+ in my opinion and not quite so funny as the other three short-listed titles. But definitely an ideal Halloween read.


I haven’t read the books in the younger age categories but here are the shortlisted titles.

Lollies 2022 Picture book shortlist

Lollies 2022 age 6-8 book shortlist

So which titles get your vote?

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram 

2 thoughts on “2022 LOLLIES shortlist – Vote now!

  1. sarahmo3w

    These sound like very entertaining reads! Although my own kids are much too old for them, I always like recommendations for my niece and nephews. Two of them have just turned 9, so these sound perfect for them.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.