Creative Wins

Although I got bitten by the comping bug about a year and a half ago, it was only last summer that I twigged that creative competitions were the ones to enter, inspired by SuperLucky Di. This was after seeing my sons have success with their colouring and drawing competitions. With creative competitions you have fun and there are probably less entries too.  So I’ve enjoyed myself trying photo, cookery, video, blog post, pinterest and tiebreaker competitions. Here is a round-up of family creative wins in 2013.

Starting with the boys.  Here are 5 year old son2’s winning pictures.  Son2 kept particularly busy with colouring and drawing whilst son1 was in hospital with leukaemia.

won colouring pencils and paper for his Winter Garden

Son2 won colouring pencils and paper for his Winter Garden

won sweets and more colouring goodies

Son2 won sweets and more colouring goodies

a runner-up with his seaside drawing

Son2 was a runner-up with his seaside drawing

won Zuma dog goodies

Son2 won Zuma dog goodies

won 2nd prize

Son2 won 2nd prize

won books

Son2 won books

won his design mounted on canvas

Son2 won his design mounted on canvas

won a sandwich cutter of his design

Son2 won a sandwich cutter of his design

won Mr Men goodies

Son2 won Mr Men goodies

And here are 8 year old son1’s winning entries. He won £100 of Waterstones vouchers for his favourite joke which is:-
Why did the toilet paper roll down the hill?
To get to the bottom.

won a mug for designing a colouring puzzle sheet

Son1 won a mug for designing a colouring puzzle sheet

won a circus playtent for his fire-eater

Son1 won a circus playtent for his fire-eater

won JCB goodies

Son1 won JCB goodies

won a kids cookery set for his sweet potato head man

Son1 won a kids cookery set for his sweet potato head man

son1 took a photo of me and we won a Cornishware mug

Son1 took a photo of me and we won a Cornishware mug

My creative wins have mainly been for blog posts. Firstly I was very pleased to be one of 15 bloggers selected to take part in Mission Deli Wraps Lunch Less Ordinary Challenge and even more pleased to be a top prize winner in week 4. Our family had great tasty fun with this one for a whole month.

And I won a £300 hamper for blogging my flapjack recipe. And a puppet for blogging about special toys.

Also had photo wins for my alien sandwich, my cake and son1’s dancing. And my ice cream sundae photo was a runner-up. And a video win for walking to school. But I haven’t explored the potential of Instagram yet as I don’t have an iphone.

Alien sandwich

Alien sandwich

I’ve also won other non-creative competitions. And although it is exciting to open a prize, especially if it has been sent without prior notification of the win, the buzz is much better from a creative win.

6 thoughts on “Creative Wins

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.