Celeriac Mash

I’ve always hated celery apart from when it is blended smooth in a cream of celery soup, so I’ve avoided buying celeriac until now, as I understand it has a fairly similar flavour to celery. However I thought I’d test myself and try celeriac. I decided to keep it simple and make some celeriac mash as a side, not being brave enough to incorporate into the main.

celeriac

mashed celeriac

Celeriac Mash

Ingredients (serves 4 as a side)

1 celeriac
1 tbsp olive oil
1 clove of garlic
salt and pepper
water

Method

Peel the celeriac and chop into small pieces.
Add oil to pan and heat gently.
Add garlic and celeriac.
Stir-fry for about 5 minutes.
Season with salt and pepper.
Cover with water and bring to boil.
Turn down to simmer and put lid on pan.
Cook for about 20 – 25 minutes until tender.
Drain any excess water.
Coarsely mash with a potato masher.
Serve as a side dish and enjoy.

mashed celeriac

mashed celeriac

Verdict. No it didn’t float my boat but at least I have tried. I won’t be buying celeriac again.

I’d love to hear what ways you have tried to cook food that you believe you may dislike?

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram

15 thoughts on “Celeriac Mash

  1. Rebekah Jones

    Now I have tried Celeriac mash and I quite liked it … I remember Mum frying it at the end … but I also know you have to boil it to death to make it nice !!

    Like

    Reply
  2. A S,Edinburgh

    Interesing. I’ve never tried celeriac; I just haven’t been inspired by it or used a recipe that calls for it. I should go for it once, though. I think your idea of putting it in mash is a really good one; something fairly simple to start with that wouldn’t waste too much time or other food if the celeriac turned out to be too unpleasant.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

