Jungle Dogs pasta

Regular readers of my blog may remember that earlier in the year I blogged a selection of Hot Dog recipes using Jungle Dogs. I have now received another free pack of Jungle Dogs in order to participate in the Jungle Dogs Blogger Challenge to create a recipe to transform my kids lunch box. Jungle Dogs are a chilled pork hot dog from the brand PEK.

Jungle Dogs

Now as my boys have school dinners rather than packed lunches, I decided to make a main meal using pasta, which can be adapted to a pasta salad to go in a lunch box instead. My pasta recipe has a cheese sauce, which although my boys love cold cheese sauce, I know doesn’t necessarily suit everyone. But the sauce can easily be substituted with mayonnaise or crème fraiche to make a more traditional pasta salad. A nice change from sandwiches.

jungle dogs pasta

Jungle Dogs pasta

The recipe below served the whole family, but I did give son1 nearly half of the pieces of Jungle Dogs as I knew he wouldn’t be satisfied otherwise.

Hot Dog Pasta

Ingredients (serves 2 adults and 2 children)

250g penne pasta
1 pack of Jungle Dogs
100g green beans
100g baby peppers
50g plain flour
50g margarine
500ml milk
100g cheddar cheese
parmesan

Method

Chop the Jungle Dogs into slices.
Top and tail the beans.
Chop the peppers in half and remove seeds.
Bring two saucepans of water to the boil, then turn down to simmer.
Add the pasta to the larger saucepan and cook for about 11 minutes.
Meanwhile melt the margarine in a jug in the microwave.
Stir in the flour.
Gradually stir in the milk.
Return to the microwave and cook on high power.
Stir at 1 minute intervals until the sauce has thickened.
Meanwhile add the beans, peppers to the second saucepan and cook gently for about 2 minutes.
Add the Jungle Dogs and continue to cook gently for a further 2 minutes.
Grate the cheese and stir into the sauce.
Return sauce to the microwave and cook on high power for 1 more minute.
Drain the pasta.
Drain the beans, peppers and Jungle Dogs.
Mix into the pasta.
Pour sauce over pasta.
Serve and enjoy, sprinkled with parmesan.

jungle dogs pasta

They currently retail at Asda at £1 for a 180g packet of 6 hot dogs. This sounds good value in my opinion and I believe it is a fairly consistent price with other brands of chilled hot dogs. It certainly made a very tasty meal.

Family Fever

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Link up your recipe of the week

Disclosure.  This post is a review of products I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

18 thoughts on “Jungle Dogs pasta

  1. Colette B

    I would never have thought of adding hot dogs to pasta – they’re not something we usually eat in our house 🙂
    Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested this week x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.