Slow Cooker – Beef Curry

I kept seeing lots of very tasty sounding slow cooker recipes online last year, so I decided to put a slow cooker on my Christmas wishlist and my sister kindly bought me one.  I’ve used it twice so far.  One was very simple – gammon which I soaked overnight first to remove some of the salt and then I just covered it in water and slow cooked it for 7 hours. The other was a beef curry and I’ll share the recipe here with you now.

Beef Curry

Beef Curry

Ingredients (serves 4)

450g diced stir-fry beef
2 cooking apples
400g tin of tomatoes
2 medium onions
1 carrot
1 large potato
3 mushrooms
75g sultanas
3 tbsp plum chutney
1 beef stock cube
400ml boiling water
3tsp madras curry powder
3 tbsp plain flour
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp lemon juice

Method

Peel and chop the onions and potatoes.
Peel, core and slice the apples.
Peel and slice the carrot.
Remove the cooking pot from the slow cooker and place on hob.
Add oil and heat gently.
Add apple and onion and fry until soft.
Meanwhile tip the plain flour into a flat dish.
Add the beef and turn several times until it is fully coated in flour.
Add beef to cooking pot and fry gently.
Crumble the stock cube into a jug and add boiling water.
Stir until dissolved.
Add stock to the cooking pot.
Drain excess juice from tinned tomatoes and chop roughly.
Add carrot, potatoes, mushrooms, tinned tomatoes, sultanas, chutney and lemon juice.
Stir in the curry powder.
Place the cooking pot into the slow cooker base and cover with lid.
Cook for about 6 hours on medium.
Serve with rice and enjoy.

beef curry

If you have made more than is required, allow to cool, then spoon individual or double portion size volumes of the curry into freezable foil food containers.  Don’t forget to label with contents and date. You can always increase the amount for bulk cooking.

Beef Curry

I had been hoping to receive some free English Provender Chutney for the 2016 Jar Amnesty but I guess I wasn’t one of the successful applicants. Instead I took a look at their website and my recipe was inspired by the English Provender Plum & Bramley Apple Chutney.

You can see from the ingredients list that I used plenty of plum chutney to give my curry a zing. This was a jar of homemade plum chutney, purchased from the WI Country Market which had been hiding at the back of the fridge. I had been challenged to use up condiments lost in the back of my fridge for the #JarAmnesty. And I included a couple of apples for it to match my inspiration.

plum chutney

I’d love to hear what is your favourite slow cooker meal?

Update at 14:30 1st Feb.
I have just now received my 2 free jars with less than 3 hours until the competition closing date, so glad I went ahead with my recipe before this, but here is a photo of the Apple, Pear & Fig Chutney and the Wholegrain Mustard with Fig & Honey just received. I’m looking forward to coming up with some more recipes using these.

English Provender Chutney

Visit Yet Another Blogging Mummy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Disclosure. This post is an entry into the #JarAmnesty Challenge with The English Provender Co and Foodies100

31 thoughts on “Slow Cooker – Beef Curry

  1. Wendy Lam-Vechi

    Oh I love this recipe. I have never tried adding plum chutney into a curry. That must add another depth of flavour. I think I have only used mango chutney in a curry but I think the extra sourness would be much welcome in a curry. I love making beef bourguignon in a slow cooker

    Like

    Reply
    1. mumjd Post author

      thank you, not done any slow cooker meals recently with being at home all the time, but it is great when out at work all day

      Like

      Reply
  2. Maya Russell

    I tend to use my slow cooker often, then it gets ignored for a bit, then I start using it again! Like the beef curry recipe.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Amazing English Provender Co recipes | Foodies 100

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.