Salmon fish cakes

Ideally you need a good quality frying pan when making fish cakes, so I decided to make some to test out the new 26cm Green Earth Textured Ceramic Nonstick Frying Pan that I have just received free from Ozeri to review.

Ozeri Green Earth Frying Pan

Ozeri Green Earth Frying Pan

I was really pleased to be offered the chance to review this product, as it is a bigger version of the 20cm Ozeri frying pan that has become a firm favourite in my kitchen since I reviewed it last year. You can read that post here, but there was one difference this time. This pan came with a pan protector to use to protect the surface of the pan, if stacking other items on top of it. What a great idea.

Ozeri Green Earth Frying Pan Protector

Pan Protector

Ozeri Green Earth Frying Pan Protector

As a pro with my existing 20cm pan, I already knew that I just needed to season the new pan with half a teaspoon of olive oil and to cook at a low heat, due to Green Earth Pans being a better conductor of heat than traditional pans, otherwise the food may burn.

Ozeri Green Earth Frying Pan

Seasoning the pan


So here is my recipe for salmon fish cakes. You’ll see that it encompasses three variants, in order to suit all members of the household. We’ve got the traditional potato ones, both with and without leek, plus ones made with sweet potato.

salmon fish cakes

Ingredients (makes 8-10)

350g potatoes
350g sweet potatoes
1 212g tin pink salmon
1 egg
2 tbsp plain flour
20g leek
salt and pepper
1/2 tsp olive oil

Method

Peel and chop the potatoes and sweet potatoes.
Chop the leek.
Bring two saucepans of water to the boil.
Put the potatoes and leek in one pan and the sweet potatoes in the other.
Cook for about 10 minutes until they are soft enough to mash.
Meanwhile drain the tin of salmon and place the fish in a bowl.
Remove any skin and bones from the fish.
Mix egg and 1 tbsp of the flour into the fish.
Season with salt and pepper.
Remove the leek from pan and put aside.
Drain the sweet potatoes and return to the pan.
Drain the potatoes and return to their pan.
Mash the sweet potatoes.
Mash the potatoes.
Mix half the fish into the potatoes and the other half into the sweet potatoes.
Dust the other tbsp of flour across a board.
Put half of the potato fish mixture onto the board.
Roll in the flour and form into 2 patties, approx 2cm high.
Mix the leek into the remainder of the potato fish mixture.
As before, form into 2-3 more patties.
Put all of the sweet potato fish mixture onto the board.
Form into 4-5 patties.
Add olive oil to frying pan.
Heat gently and put 4 patties in the frying pan.
Cook gently for about 4-5 minutes until golden underneath.
Turn over and repeat to cook the other side.
Put aside whilst you cook the other patties.
Serve hot with your choice of vegetables and enjoy.

salmon fish cakes

And the verdict on the pan. Absolutely fantastic. The fish cakes did not stick in the slightest, so were very easy to turn, half way through cooking. And we got a thumbs up all round from everyone for the fish cakes too.

Now let me remind you what I found out last time. I discovered that the Ozeri Green Earth pans are one of the first non-stick frying pans to be free of harmful heavy metals and chemicals. This is due to the GREBLON ceramic coating which is 100% PTFE and PFOA free. I had never realised that previously when cooking at high temperatures that toxic fumes were probably being released into the environment. I have been making a conscious effort since, to cook at lower temperatures, although still struggling to get my other half to remember to do the same.

You can order this Frying Pan via Amazon.  Currently the price has been reduced from £44.99 to £24.99.  This is very good value in my opinion for such a quality item. And I can add that a year on, my existing 20cm pan is still looking in good condition.

I’ve already mentioned that it also comes in a 20cm size, but there is a third size too, the biggest version at 30 cm.

Ozeri is a manufacturer of products for contemporary homes. I have also previously reviewed their Precision Pro II Digital Bathroom Scales and their Salt and Pepper Grinder and been very pleased with both of those too.

Link up your recipe of the week

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Disclosure.  This post is a review of a product I was sent for free.  All opinions are my own.

16 thoughts on “Salmon fish cakes

  1. Colette B

    Dave would be a big fan of this pan I’m sure – he’s always picking up pots and pans when we’re out shopping! I’d rather buy shoes 😉
    Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested this week x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.